Skip to main content




The Ultimate Hits 1968-2013 (Essential Edition)

“I just need to communicate everything through my voice. I think that’s one of the reasons why my fans have stayed loyal to me over all the years. Through my voice – I express emotions – that’s all I do.”
Joe Cocker

Joe’s final and official posthumous Sony album ‘The Life Of A Man – The Ultimate Hits 1968 – 2013’ is now issued as an ‘Essential Edition’: a collection of outstanding songs on one CD, and for the first time available on Double-Vinyl. The warm analog vinyl sound fits perfectly for Joe’s raw voice, and the compact collection of hits on one single CD is just perfect for every music lover, remembering Joe’s most remarkable songs.  The ‘Essential Edition’ is an essential album for every music collection, the final curtain call for an artist indeed much loved and missed.

He was undoubtedly one of the pre-eminent rock musicians of his generation, releasing 22 studio albums, 10 live albums, 68 singles, and numerous compilations during his forty-four year recording career. On 22nd December 2014 the iconic British rock star Joe Cocker died at his home, Mad Dog Ranch, aged 70.  He has been much missed.

Sony Music honoured the memory of Joe Cocker soon after his sudden death with the release of ‘The Life Of A Man’, the first comprehensive collection with all the hits and highlights of his career.  The album is the definitive Joe Cocker ‘Best Of’ of all time, encapsulating Joe’s entire musical history, delivered in his signature husky blues voice.  From 1968’s first success ‘With a Little Help From My Friends’ through to ‘Fire It Up’ the title track to his last triumphant studio release, the album pays tribute to his impressive life’s work through a multitude of unforgettable recordings, exclusive sleeve notes, and photographs.

Included in this definitive compilation are the live anthems ‘The Letter’ and ‘Cry Me A River’; ballads such as ‘You Are So Beautiful’, ‘Many Rivers To Cross’; as well as tracks inspired and included in films such as ‘Up Where We Belong’, ‘You Can Leave Your Hat On’ or ‘Come Together’; and of course Joe’s final anthem chart topper ‘Fire It Up’. 

Joe gave his carefully curated songs his unmistakable trademark; ‘Summer In The City’ (John Sebastian, Steve Boon, Mark Sebastian for The Lovin’ Spoonful), ‘Many Rivers To Cross’ (Jimmy Cliff) and ‘With A Little Help From My Friends’ (John Lennon & Paul McCartney for The Beatles), all of which Joe gave his own signature stamp, an incomparable interpretation, often publically endorsed by the original writers. 


01. With A Little Help From My Friends 5:10

02. Up Where We Belong 3:55

03. Many Rivers To Cross 3:45

04. You Are So Beautiful 2:45

05. You Can Leave Your Hat On 4:20

06. Delta Lady 2:52

07. The Letter (Live At The Fillmore East) 4:13

08. Cry Me a River (Live At The Fillmore East) 3:56

09. Unchain My Heart 5:08

10. Woman To Woman 4:28

11. The Simple Things 4:51

12. Summer In The City 3:48

13. Fire It Up 3:53

14. Feelin' Alright 4:11

15. Come Together 4:25

16. When The Night Comes 4:25

17. I Come In Peace 4:19

18. Performance 4:43



Ultimate HIts